I Love my Soda Stream

I am not paid by Soda Stream, and I receive no kick-backs or discounts from them (I wish!), but I’ve had my Soda Stream now for 5 months and I’m as happy with it now as I was when I first found it at that estate sale.

Point of fact, if I had known how happy I would be with the Soda Stream I would have bought one new for myself. Continuing the fact-revealing here, I have purchased brand new Soda Streams as gifts for family members (can’t afford to gift friends, but I can trumpet how much I love the machine and share the beverages I make from it).

There was this article in today’s ABC news about the Soda Stream, and it was sort of luke-warm about the benefits of carbonated water, and a bit negative regarding the syrups from Soda Stream.

That’s OK, I don’t like Soda Stream syrups, either. They are too sweet, and they contain non-sugar sweeteners and artificial colors and flavors, and I’m not down with that.

I make my own flavorings, and they aren’t all sweet.

During the heat of summer, I really enjoyed carbonated pickle juice and carbonated balsamic vinegars (the fig was my favorite). A little of the juice or vinegar went a long way in the glass, and what thirst quenchers they were. I look forward to drinking them again when it warms up.

During the party season, the Soda Stream was excellent for making the tonic waters that go into Gin and Tonic (with a splash of cranberry juice or grenadine for a festive red color), and a Sloe Gin Fizz, and other such drinks.

Making your simple syrup is incredibly easy, as is making fruit and herb juice concentrates. Sparkling lavender lemonade, minted rose sodas, tarragon tonic, gingerbread bubbly, and more are at your fingertips with a Soda Stream.

These flavors are so satisfying I don’t drink as much soda as I once mindlessly did. I used to drink an entire 2 liter bottle of soda without thought. Now, I drink one 12 -14 ounce glass of home made soda a day and enjoy every sip in ways I never did commercial sodas.

The ease of making your sodas to your specific taste – and the ability to quickly and easily make different sodas for everyone – is a huge bonus for having a Soda Stream.

The fact that having the Soda Stream also reduces the amount of plastic bottles thrown away is important, but what matters is how easy it is to make this one small environmental difference. You won’t even notice it, you won’t miss the many bottles you once bought and tossed. This is by far the nicest and easiest way to make a big difference for the environment.

I kinda feel like I want to be the lemonade man from the 17th C. mentioned in the article, only with a Soda Stream and a cart full of flavorings.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. ssgt leslie
    Jan 15, 2014 @ 00:29:11

    maybe the soda stream should give you discounts, or kick backs, dont firms know, the best advertising are the words we speak. enjoy your machine.

Join the Conversation

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 89 other followers

Year Without God

a former pastor's journey into atheism

The Pitter Patter of Paws

Life brings you to unexpected places. Love brings you home.

Kitchen Overlord

Your home for geeky recipes, edible art, and nerdy kitchen gadget reviews.

John's Blog

More fun than a barrel full of Peeps!

Oysters and Life

Give me a grain of sand and see what happens.

Thoughtfully Prepping

My Scribblings about Prepping and Survivalism

ellisnelson

children's author

Casper the Friendly Dane

The story of a Service Dane and his humans.

Plotting Bunnies

Words are oxygen

livingly dying

notes & essays on daily life with terminal cancer

NERDSTEAK

Food and Culture Shenanigans

Pepper Bento

Follow Pepper In Her Passion For Great Food & Japanese Bento

Gotta Find a Home:

Conversations with Street People

Trainer Trish

Giving dogs the tools to be successful

Gabriel Lucatero Official Website

Chronicles of The Santa Barbara Diner and Other Stories

Combat Yid and Her Service Dog

a day in the life of...

Great Dane Service Dog's Weblog

This is my wandering way into owner training a service dog

Homemade With Mess

who wants life to be tidy when you can have more fun making a mess??!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers

